Whether you’re trying to carry out executor duties or you’re an immediate relative tasked with taking care of your loved one’s digital assets after death, you’re probably working your way through an entire list of accounts that need to be closed, canceled, or archived. TiVo is just one of many accounts that people often keep current until the time of their death.
Jump ahead to these sections:
- How to Permanently Delete Your Own TiVo Account
- How to Permanently Delete a TiVo for a Deceased Loved One
- Deleting a TiVo Account: FAQs
If you’re in the position of taking care of your relative’s accounts, you can breathe a sigh of relief. Closing a TiVo account is relatively simple and straightforward, allowing you to close the account and no longer worry about your relative’s card being charged or the company placing their account into collections due to missed back payments.
How to Permanently Delete Your Own TiVo Account
If you want direct control over your digital afterlife, delete your own TiVo account when you’re ready. Deleting your account only takes a couple of steps and a few minutes of your time. If you aren’t ready to delete your account but you’re ready to start end-of-life planning, be sure to include instructions for your executor regarding the deletion of your account after you pass.
Here is what you need to know to delete your own account.
Step 1: Log in
There are several ways to access your account in order to delete or cancel your service. The easiest way is to log in through their online portal found at www.tivo.com/tivo-mma/index.do. This takes you directly to the login page.
If you’ve forgotten your password, you can submit the email associated with your account, and they’ll send you an auto-generated temporary password. At this point, you can reset your password and log in with the email address associated with your account and your password.
Step 2: Check active devices
Once logged in, go to the “Active Devices” tab. Here, you’ll be able to see every TiVo proprietary device that is connected.
Step 3: Select and cancel
Select all devices connected to TiVo one at a time. Once you’ve selected, choose “cancel service.” Once you’ve done this to all your TiVo devices, your services will be canceled entirely.
Step 4: Pay final bills
If there are any bills to be paid, do so at the time of cancellation. If you cancel early, TiVo might charge an early termination fee.
Paying your final bills is essential to closing your account. If you close the credit card you’ve used for TiVo, assuming that TiVo will stop charging you upon a lack of payment, you’ll be in for a surprise.
Rather than canceling your account for non-payment, TiVo will continue charging your account. If the charges aren’t paid with a new card, TiVo will turn your account over to a collections service. To avoid any legal hassle, be sure all bills are paid when you cancel services.
Step 5: Check credit card statements
TiVo is a subscription-based TV recording and programming service that auto-renews every time your subscription comes to an end. Check in the following months to ensure that your request cleared through all channels and you aren’t getting charged for services. Though rare, continued charges have been known to occur even after canceling services.
Step 6: Contact Customer Service
After you’ve canceled services and paid any final bills, call customer service. You’ll need your account number, phone number, and email address associated with the account ready. Once on the phone with a customer service representative, you can request all account information deletion.
Customer service will provide a closing statement that is either mailed or emailed to you with a confirmation letter that all services have been closed.
How to Permanently Delete a TiVo for a Deceased Loved One
Deleting a loved one’s TiVo account is similar to deleting your own account if you have their login information. If you don’t have their password, there is still a way to connect with TiVo and shut the account down.
Step 1: Check for their password
To cancel services and close an account, you’ll need your loved one’s password, email associated with their TiVo account, and username. If you’re uncertain of these pieces of information, check their password manager for their account number, username, and password.
If you don’t have the password, you can submit a password reset request. For this, you’ll need the email address associated with the account. If the TiVo account is active, the email address is most likely one they use frequently. Try email addresses you have the password for first. If you don’t have access to their email, then you’ll need to jump ahead to calling customer service.
Step 2: Access their account online
If you have their online account information, continue through the steps above as if you were closing your own account. If you are missing pieces of their account information, continue with the next several steps.
Step 3: Contact customer service
If you need help closing your loved one’s account, paying final bills, and deleting the account, the best option is to contact customer service directly. You’ll speak with a billing specialist during this process. You’ll need identifying account information such as their account number and email or phone number associated with the account. Copies of your executor status or relationship to the deceased may be required, in addition to a copy of a death certificate or obituary notice.
At this point, you’ll be able to pay any final bills, fines, or early termination fees. The account cannot be closed until all bills are paid and cleared.
Step 4: Closed account notification
Once your loved one’s account is closed, you’ll be mailed or emailed an official notice that the account has been closed. Keep an eye on credit card statements and bills in the mail for the next month or two to ensure there are no lingering statements or auto-renewed statements that TiVo submitted by accident. If any bills come through, you can call customer service to help rectify the situation.
Deleting a TiVo Account: FAQs
Many people run into questions when they delete accounts. Here are answers to common questions you may have.
Do you get a refund when you cancel your TiVo account?
For accounts and plan commitments that are active for more than thirty days, no refunds are given. Accounts within thirty days of activation will receive a prorated refund.
What else happens when you cancel your TiVo subscription?
When you cancel your TiVo subscription, your box will only work with limited capacity. You will be able to watch TV through the streaming box and may be able to pause shows you’re watching, but TiVo-specific functions and all preloaded apps hosted by TiVo will be inaccessible.
Can you reactivate your account after you cancel?
If you’ve canceled your account and you wish to reactivate it at a later date, you do have the option to call phone support and reactivate the account.
Taking Care of Your Digital Footprint
When managing your digital footprint, be sure to add items such as TiVo services, audiobook subscriptions, and other digital services that you or your loved ones use. Subscription services continue to charge, even when credit cards are closed, and digital platforms host information until the data is removed. Keep you and your loved ones from being charged for services no longer used by canceling them as soon as you can.
- “Cancelling TiVo Services Online.” Community Support, TiVo, 31 October 2019, tivoidp.tivo.com/tivoCommunitySupport/s/article/Cancelling-TiVo-Service.
- “30-Day Money Back Guarantee.” Community Support, TiVo, 21 February 2020, tivoidp.tivo.com/tivoCommunitySupport/s/article/How-to-Change-a-Customer-s-Payment-Plan.
- “TiVo Service Plans.” Community Support, TiVo, 12 May 2020, tivoidp.tivo.com/tivoCommunitySupport/s/article/TiVo-Payment-Plans-and-Policies.