How to Close a Dropbox Account for You or a Deceased Loved One

Updated

Dropbox is a cloud storage service that allows you to store your various digital files on Dropbox’s servers. This makes it easier to optimize storage on your devices. It also limits the odds of losing important files if your device sustains significant damage.

Jump ahead to these sections:

But although Dropbox’s services may be convenient, there are several reasons you might want to close your Dropbox account. Alternatively, closing someone’s digital accounts after they pass away may be among your executor duties.

Whether you’re closing your Dropbox account or the Dropbox account of a deceased loved one, don’t worry if you’re unsure of where to begin. This guide will explain everything you need to know.

Steps for Closing Your Own Dropbox Account

Closing your own Dropbox account is a reasonably straightforward process. All you have to do is follow the steps below.

That said, it’s important to remember that closing your Dropbox account may prevent you from accessing some of your files and data. Be sure to download any files you may want to access in the future and save them securely somewhere else.

Step 1: Sign in to Dropbox

Head to Dropbox’s login page, and enter your information to access your account. If you have trouble remembering the login info for some accounts, consider using a password manager tool to make keeping track of this information easier.

Step 2: Find your avatar

Once you’ve logged in to your account, find your avatar. It will be either a profile picture or your initials, and it will be in the upper righthand corner of the page. Click on it.

Step 3: Choose ‘settings’

After clicking your avatar, you’ll see various links. Click the “settings” link.

Step 4: Delete account

The settings page sorts its features and links into different categories. Under the “general” category you will find a “delete account” link. Click on it, confirm you wish to delete your account, and the process is complete.

Steps for Closing a Deceased Loved One’s Dropbox Account

Knowing what to do when someone dies can always be difficult, particularly if you are responsible for handling their accounts and subscriptions. Luckily, if you need to close the Dropbox account of a deceased loved one, you shouldn’t face much of a challenge. Simply follow these steps:

Step 1: Determine if you have the needed login information

Depending on how close you were with the person, they may have shared their login information with you. Or you may have access to their device, and they might still be signed in to their account.

If this is the case, all you have to do to close their account is follow the steps in the above section. If you can’t access their account because they’re no longer signed in and you don’t have their login information, move on to the next steps.

(Note: If you merely wish to delete or manage the files of someone with a Dropbox account who has recently passed, and you have access to their device, you may be able to manage their files via the Dropbox folder on their computer.)

Step 2: Prepare documentation

You’ll need to contact Dropbox directly if the above step isn’t an option. According to Dropbox’s guide on this subject, while deleting the account of someone who passed away is entirely possible (presuming you have the legal right to handle these matters), it can take some time.

You can potentially speed up the process by gathering specific information and documentation before reaching out to Dropbox. For example, the company will want some evidence confirming that you’re legally responsible for closing someone’s account, such as a will. An attorney can help you gather this documentation if you are not sure how to do so.

Of course, you will also need to show proof that the person whose account you’re asking to close is actually deceased. Although an obituary might serve this purpose, generally, you will have more luck convincing Dropbox that the individual in question has passed if you provide a copy of a death certificate. Our guide on how to get a death certificate offers more information on how to go about doing so.

Step 3: Contact Dropbox

You can get in touch with Dropbox by creating a “support ticket” via this page. This ticket will need to include the following information:

  • The full name of the person whose account you’re closing
  • The email address they used when creating that account
  • Your name, your email and mailing addresses, and a description of your relationship to your deceased loved one
  • A scanned copy or photocopy of a government-issued ID
  • An official court order confirming that you not only have a legal right to handle the deceased’s Dropbox account, but that they also made it clear (again, in the form of a will or similar official documentation) that in the event of their death, it was their intention that you be able to access their account and their files, and that you be able to manage them moving forward

Dropbox’s support team will review your request to decide whether to grant it. This may take some time, and it’s possible Dropbox’s team will ask that you provide more information and documentation. The company understandably wants to fully respect the privacy and rights of its customers.

Be patient. Again, the more information you can provide from the start, the less time it will likely take for Dropbox’s support team to decide you have the right and responsibility to close your loved one’s account after their passing.

Frequently Asked Questions: Closing a Dropbox Account

Do you still have questions about closing a Dropbox account that this guide has not yet answered? This basic FAQ may help if so:

Can you cancel a Dropbox account at any time?

Yes. When you delete your account, Dropbox will begin removing the files on your account after 30 days. You can also mark Dropbox files for “permanent deletion.” If you do, Dropbox will begin removing them after 60 days.

What happens after you cancel a Dropbox account?

Closing a Dropbox account has several results. They include the following:

  • Your desktop and mobile Dropbox apps will no longer sync
  • You will be unable to access your account via Dropbox.com
  • If you have any files in shared folders, you will no longer be able to edit them
  • If you keep your Dropbox folder on your computer, your files will remain in the folder
  • If you shared files in Shared Dropbox folders, those with access to said folders will still be able to access those files
  • Dropbox will delete your files from its servers

The potential results of closing a Dropbox account can also vary depending on the type of account you have. For example, if you have a Dropbox Plus or Professional subscription, or if you have a family plan, when you first close your account Dropbox will merely downgrade your subscription to a Basic plan. You can then complete the permanent deletion process.

Just remember that deleting a Dropbox Basic, Professional, Plus, or Family account is not something you can undo. You may want to read this guide twice to be certain you fully understand what can happen if you decide to close your account fully.

Closing a Dropbox Account Can be Easy

Again, regardless of whether you’re closing your own Dropbox account, or you need to close the account of someone who recently passed, the process tends to be fairly simple. That said, if you’re closing the account of a loved one who has died, you will find that doing so is even easier if you take some time to prepare first before contacting the company.


Sources:
  1. “How to Delete a Dropbox Account.” Create or Delete Accounts, Dropbox, Inc., 2021. Help.dropbox.com
  2. “How to access the Dropbox account of someone who has passed away.” Accounts and Billing, Dropbox, Inc., 2021. Help.dropbox.com

Icons sourced from FlatIcon.