How to Deactivate or Delete a Tagged Account: Step-By-Step

Updated

Have you ever considered simplifying your life by deleting your online presence? This guide may help you protect yourself from fraudulent charges that could appear on your credit card. 

Jump ahead to these sections:

Deleting your online presence involves starting with your social media accounts like Tagged. Let us show you how to deactivate Tagged or delete it. 

How to Deactivate or Delete Your Own Tagged Account

Were you excited to have a Tagged account when it first appeared on the scene? Since then, you may have realized that it wasn't the best social media platform for you.

Let's walk through the simple process so you know how to get rid of your Tagged account.

Step 1: Cancel your Tagged Premium subscription

If you have a premium subscription, first cancel it before deactivating your account. This will keep your credit card from being charged for future subscriptions. 

Step 2: Log in to the web version of Tagged

You can’t use Tagged’s app to delete your account. Instead, you must log in through the Tagged webpage. 

Do you have a difficult time remembering your password for all of your online accounts? Consider using a password manager to eliminate the need to reset your password on rarely used online accounts.

Step 3: Select “Account” 

You can find your account at the top of the navigation bar.

Step 4: Select “Settings"

The process seems simple enough so far, right?

Step 5: Click “Cancel Your Account”

Follow the prompts once you click on "Cancel Your Account.” Those who have a premium subscription can follow these specific prompts. 

Step 6: Select “Yes, I want to cancel my account”

You must give Tagged another nod of approval before you officially cancel your account. 

Step 7: Enter your password

Next, you must enter your password a second time before Tagged will delete your account.

Step 8: Click “Cancel Account”

The company wants you to make sure you make the right choice before severing ties! 

ยป CAKE FOR ENTERPRISE: Work in health care? The best health systems support patients with advance care planning. Stand out by partnering with Cake.

 

How to Delete Your Tagged Account From Your Phone

Do you have issues with technology and aren’t sure whether you can navigate Tagged's website to delete your account? We've listed the instructions below so you know how to delete your account from the app on your phone.

Step 1: Log in to the mobile site

Using your phone’s internet browser, enter Tagged’s website URL or search for “Tagged.”

Step 2: Scroll to the bottom of the site

Most of the time, a link to customer service can be found at the bottom of a webpage.

Step 3: Select "Settings" and then "My Account"

You should easily find these on the website.

Step 4: Select the Full Site" link

As soon as you click on the “full site” link from your phone, you will notice that the look of the webpage will change. You may find it necessary to magnify or enlarge the view so that you can maneuver through the website from your phone. 

Step 5: Navigate to “Cancel Account” 

Hopefully, you can find this part of the site!

Step 6. Select “Cancel your Tagged account” 

Dive in again and click this message.

Step 7: Choose “Yes, I want to cancel my account”

Premium Tagged members can cancel their membership before deactivating their accounts. Otherwise, the account deletion process will continue.

Step 8: Reenter your account password

Finally, click on “Cancel Account” to complete the process. 

How to Deactivate or Delete a Deceased Loved One’s Tagged Account

Even though deleting your loved one’s Tagged account may not fit into your executor’s duties, some families take careful consideration of their deceased loved one’s digital afterlife. This means that family members may consider what to do with the deceased’s email accounts, cloud storage, and social media accounts. 

Keep in mind that you may not have a financial reason to deactivate your loved one’s Tagged account. Your loved one’s credit or debit card should have been suspended after death, and no additional charges should show up on the statement. 

Deleting your loved one’s Tagged account will just tie up loose ends and may help protect your deceased loved one’s privacy.

Unfortunately, Tagged’s terms of service or help articles don't explain what to do if a deceased loved one had an account. We found the contact information for Tagged so you can reach out and explain your situation.

Option 1: Contact Tagged’s support team

You can reach out to Tagged at support@tagged.com.

Explain that you recently lost a loved one and that you wish to have your loved one's account deactivated. If you don’t know your loved one’s login information or user name, you may be able to identify the account by providing the email address your loved one would have used to open it.

You may have to provide a copy of your loved one’s death certificate or a link to the online obituary. In some cases, companies ask that the next of kin show proof of a relationship with the decedent. 

Option 2: Send Tagged a letter

You may prefer to delete your loved one’s online accounts by sending a letter to the company. If you prefer to work through snail mail, write to Tagged at:

Tagged
100 Union Square Drive
New Hope, PA 18938

Plan for Your Online Accounts After Your Death

Your loved one’s death may have caused you to think about your own mortality. In fact, the death may have inspired you to create your own end-of-life plans so that your next of kin won’t struggle when having to make decisions about your funeral services.

As you go about the process of picking a funeral home, deciding on your eternal resting place, and selecting songs for your funeral, think about your digital afterlife. Go to your social media account settings and indicate how to handle your accounts after you die.

For social media companies that do not offer this service, consider giving your login and password to a trusted family member or friend along with instructions on what you wish to have done with the contents of the account after your death.


Source:
  1. “How to Delete My Account/Cancel My Profile.” Tagged. support.tagged.com/portal/en/kb/articles/how-do-i-cancel-my-account-desktop 

Icons sourced from FlatIcon.