ASKfm is a free online platform for asking questions publicly. When you ask questions, you can share them on your website or social media. What makes ASKfm unique is that all answers are anonymous, allowing your social circle to leave anonymous messages in response.
Jump ahead to these sections:
Because the nature of ASKfm can sometimes lead to intrusive questions, answers, and everything in between, it’s common for people to decide to permanently delete their ASKfm account at some point. Whether you’re deleting your own account or a loved one’s account, you want to close this account quickly and simply.
If you’re taking action to delete your online presence one account at a time, it’s often confusing to know what steps to take. In this guide, we’ll share how to permanently delete an ASKfm account in clear details.
How to Delete Your Own ASKfm Account
ASKfm makes it relatively simple to delete your account, but there is a waiting period and a few things to know. Here are the steps to follow to delete your own ASKfm account.
Step 1. Decide between deletion and deactivation
Like many other online accounts, ASKfm gives you the choice between deletion and deactivation. How do these differ? When you delete your account, all of your data is removed. You will no longer have access to your account, questions, answers, or login details. There is a 30-day waiting period for account deletion, and during this time you can change your mind.
On the other hand, deactivation is when your account is no longer visible. Nobody can search for your account or visit your ASKfm page. You can undo this at any time, ensuring you still have access to your account if you choose to make it public in the future. To deactivate, login to your account, go to settings, click “Account,” and select “Deactivate.”
Step 2. Save personal information
Before you delete your account, make sure any data or information you want to keep is secured and saved. Once you delete your account, your information will be completely removed from ASKfm. This means you’ll no longer have access to any questions, answers, media, and so on.
If any of this is meaningful to you, save it before you delete your account. You can take screenshots, copy messages, and so on. Though you might not want these things online, you might still value having a copy saved for your personal keepsake or records.
Step 3. Go to the Delete Account page
ASKfm does not have a clear link to delete your account from your profile or account settings. That said, you can delete your account by going to this link through ASKfm support when you’re logged in on a desktop.
To delete your account permanently, type your password. From there, click “Leave ASKfm.” This finalizes the process and your account deletion begins. Note that there is a 30-day window after you submit your request. During this time, you can reactivate your account by logging back in within that time frame.
Get our free checklist for navigating loss 💙
Enter your email to get your free roadmap for the steps after loss in your inbox.
Step 4. Wait the 30 days
Next, wait the full 30 days to make sure your account is deleted fully. At this time, you’ll no longer be able to log in. Any posts you’ve made on friends’ accounts will be converted to anonymous, and your content shouldn’t show in Google or any other search engine.
However, ASKfm reports that some users might still see their content in search engines, and this is out of ASKfm’s control. If this happens to you, you may want to contact the support team of the specific search engine to discuss options for removing it.
How to Delete a Deceased Loved One’s ASKfm Account
If you’re tasked with executor duties that involve deleting a loved one’s accounts after death, there are a few steps to delete a loved one’s account on their behalf. While this is more complicated depending on whether you have access to their login details, ASKfm’s support is there to help.
Step 1. Login if you can
The easiest way to delete someone’s account on their behalf is by following the steps above as though you were deleting your own account. Of course, this is only possible if you have access to their username and password. This might be something they saved in their password manager, for instance.
If you have access to your loved one’s email, you might be able to reset their password that way as well. Otherwise, you’ll have to contact support following the steps below to access their account.
Step 2. Contact support
If you don’t have access to your loved one’s login details, you’ll need to speak with support directly. ASKfm has a support request form that they prefer users to use if they have any difficulties logging in, and the same is true to access someone else’s account.
Step 3. Create a detailed support request
On the support form, you’ll want to make sure you’re including the right information and contacting the right department. Start with the e-mail address that’s best to contact you. Next, under “Enquiry type,” click “Can’t log in.” Also, include your full name and country.
In the details section, write a message explaining that you’d like to delete an account on behalf of a deceased loved one. They’ll likely need some supporting documents to prove that the individual is deceased (i.e. the death certificate) and also that you’re qualified as the executor of their final wishes (i.e. a court document).
In most cases, you’ll have better luck asking for the account to be deactivated vs. deleted. This is a simpler request, and it’s something ASKfm commonly does.
Secure Your Accounts
Your digital afterlife is worth protecting. From your social media accounts to the information you post online, it’s important to understand how your data is used and how it affects you and your loved ones in the long term. While ASKfm is undoubtedly fun, it can lead to information you’d rather not be publicly available online.
Luckily, it’s straightforward to delete or deactivate your own ASKfm account in just a few simple steps. Similarly, there are things you can do to delete an ASKfm account on behalf of a deceased loved one as well.
Though it might seem unnecessary, you never want to have too many unused accounts open with your personal information. Not only is this a security and privacy risk, but it affects your legacy. How will you protect yourself and your loved ones?