How to Permanently Delete a Fitbit Account: Step-By-Step

Published on:

Are you concerned about your privacy and want to delete your personal information from the internet? If you are like most people, you probably have dozens of online accounts. You may have even created one in an effort to get in shape.

Jump ahead to these sections:

Here is how to delete your Fitbit account that you may have created when purchasing one of their devices, as well as how to delete the account of a loved one that may have recently died.

Deleting online accounts is not typically a part of the executor’s duties. If you are concerned about your deceased loved one’s privacy, this is something you may want to do after your loved one’s financial matters are settled. 

How to Delete Your Own Fitbit Account

Deleting your account with Fitbit is super easy, but there are things to consider before following the process. Do you have a Fitbit Coach account? If so, deleting your Fitbit account will consequently delete your Fitbit Coach account. If this is your intention, continue with the steps.

Did you get a new Fitbit, and you wish to replace your old device with the new one? You don’t have to delete your old account to set up your new account. You can simply delete one device and replace it with your newer one. Use these instructions to complete the process. 

If you are simply looking to delete your account and close it for good, here’s how to do it from the Fitbit app.

1. Login to your account.

Unless you have this password memorized, you may need to retrieve it from your password manager. Once you have logged into your Fitbit account, you only have to follow three more steps to delete it.

2. Tap the Today tab, and tap your profile picture.

The “Today” tab looks like a series of dots in the shape of a diamond. 

3. Click Manage Data.

You will need to scroll down to find this option under your profile photo.

4. Select “delete account” and follow the on-screen instructions.

Follow up with deleting the app from your smartphone. If you prefer, you can delete your account with Fitbit in four steps from their website. They are more or less the same as described above, so you don’t have to worry.

  1. Log into your account. 
  2. Click the gear icon.
  3. Scroll down to Settings.
  4. Select “delete account” and follow the on-screen instructions.
ยป MORE: Grief is a form of remembrance. This complete post-loss checklist is your guide to honoring their legacy.

 

How to Delete a Deceased Loved One’s Fitbit Account

Unfortunately, there is not a specific set of instructions on how to delete your deceased loved one’s Fitbit account. What we can do for you is give you lots of contact options so that you can present your problem to a customer service representative.

Regardless of which option is easiest to use, you will need to have the email address that your loved one used to create their Fitbit account. Make sure you have that handy.

Because there are no financial ramifications for keeping or deleting a Fitbit account, you may not need a copy of your loved one’s death certificate. This document must be presented to close bank accounts and show mortgage companies, but Fitbit doesn’t need to obtain a copy.

Here are the customer service contact options for Fitbit.

1. Option 1

Online Chat

This option requires you to either login to your Fitbit account or get access through Facebook or Google.

2. Option 2

Call (877) 623-4997. A customer service representative will answer your call from 4 a.m. to 9 p.m. PT.

3. Option 3

You can also send a direct message (DM) to @Fitbitsupport through Twitter.

Frequently Asked Questions: Deleting a Fitbit Account

Do you have other questions about your Fitbit account? Here are some popular help topics.

How do you reset Fitbit account data?

Resetting your Fitbit device is undoubtedly an option, and it is certainly advisable if you plan to give or sell it to another person or return it to the store. This would also be a good option for those who inherited a Fitbit from a recently passed family member.

To reset your Fitbit, you need to understand what type of device you own. Once you have determined this, visit this page on their website and follow the specific instructions. Some devices require that you make a few simple selections under the “Settings” tab. Others require further finagling. 

Can you temporarily delete your Fitbit account?

Have you ever had one of those moments when you made a selection that you immediately regretted? If you deleted your Fitbit account and wish that you wouldn’t have, you may be able to recover the data.

You have seven days to recover your data from Fitbit after you request to delete your account. To retrieve your data, log into your account and choose to restore access to the data. After seven days, the account will be frozen, and you won’t be able to recover the data.

If you are deleting your account because of privacy concerns, Fitbit says that it may take up to 90 days to delete all of your personal information from their backup systems.

Don’t Forget to Take Care of Your Loved One’s Digital Afterlife

The term digital afterlife is relatively new to some people. It refers to a person’s social media accounts, cloud storage, and other online accounts that may be left behind after a person dies.

You may find that there is little that you can do to recover your loved one’s data after they die, as companies want to protect their user’s privacy even beyond the grave. 

Consider what you want to happen to your Facebook account, iCloud files, Google Drive data, and email account after you go so that you can include your choices in your end-of-life plan.


Sources:
  1. “How do I set up my Fitbit device?” Help, Fitbit, help.fitbit.com/articles/en_US/Help_article/1873.htm
  2. “How do I delete my Fitbit Account?” Help, Fitbit, help.fitbit.com/articles/en_US/Help_article/1285.htm

Icons sourced from FlatIcon.