How to Permanently Delete a MeetMe Account: Step-By-Step

Updated

Cake values integrity and transparency. We follow a strict editorial process to provide you with the best content possible. We also may earn commission from purchases made through affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more in our affiliate disclosure.

MeetMe is a social networking service. The headline on their landing page says that through MeetMe, you can “meet, chat, and have fun with new people—free.” While the word “dating” is never used on the landing page, MeetMe is sometimes used for those purposes. 

Jump ahead to these sections: 

We would like to teach you how to delete your MeetMe account or the MeetMe account of a deceased loved one. Whether you no longer need to meet new people, or you are taking care of the digital afterlife of a loved one, here are the steps. 

How to Permanently Delete Your Own MeetMe Account

There are several reasons you may be interested in permanently deleting your MeetMe account. Perhaps you are in a committed romantic relationship and you no longer want to meet new people. Maybe you are tired of receiving notifications, texts, and emails, and you think deleting the MeetMe account will simplify your life. 

Please understand that deleting your account will not remove any of the posts you made while a member of this social media outlet. If you want to delete your posted information and content, email support@themeetgroup.com from the email address associated with your account and request that the content is deleted. 

Regardless of the reasons for stepping away from MeetMe, here are the actions you need to take to delete your account. 

Step 1: Log into your MeetMe account

Using your email address and password, log into your MeetMe account. Of course, if you don’t remember your password, you may have to go through the steps to reset it. (Keeping track of passwords is easy when you use a password manager.)

Step 2: Select “settings”

Once you have logged into your account, you will have access to several menus and drop-down screens. “Settings” appears in the top right-hand corner of your screen. Click on the word to access the drop-down menu.

Step 3: Select “account”

Select the word “account” under settings. This will give you access to another set of options.

Step 4: Select “deactivate account”

Clicking “deactivate account” and confirming this choice will remove your account from MeetMe. You should receive an email confirmation that the account was deleted. You may want to return to the website and try to log in later to see if the account is gone. 

Please note that these steps can be done from the app or your online account. From the app, choose “settings” and select “delete account.”

ยป MORE: How do you host a virtual or hybrid funeral? Start here

 

How to Permanently Delete a MeetMe Account for a Deceased Loved One

Although deleting social media and dating accounts is not typically part of an executor’s duties, the person who oversees the deceased’s digital assets and the person who deletes such accounts may be one and the same.  

If you recently lost a loved one and wish to delete their MeetMe account, here are the steps to take. From there, follow our post-loss checklist for next steps when it comes to managing your loved one's digital legacy.

Step 1: Try to access the account through the app or online

The easiest way to delete your deceased family member’s account through MeetMe is to try to log into the app from your loved one’s computer or phone. If they saved the password for the site on a device, this might be easy to do. 

Once you have access to the deceased’s online account, you can go through the steps outlined above to deactivate it. You may also want to request that your loved one’s posts would be removed by emailing support@themeetgroup.com. 

Step 2: Try to reset the password

Because of the nature of the website, your loved one may not have saved their password information on a device. If you do have access to your deceased family member’s email, you may be able to reset the password and complete the steps above to deactivate the account. 

Step 3: Contact MeetMe

If your loved one was concerned about digital privacy, you might have difficulty getting into their MeetMe account. If this is the case, contact the company at 215-862-7832 or email customer support at support@themeetgroup.com. 

Deleting a MeetMe Account: Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have more questions about how to deactivate a MeetMe account? See if we address your concerns below.

Can you delete a MeetMe account without an email address?

It’s common for people to have several different email addresses. Having multiple email addresses certainly complicates deleting a MeetMe account. If you don’t know the email account to open the account, contact MeetMe customer support at 215-862-7832 or support@themeetgroup.com.

Does MeetMe delete inactive accounts?

According to MeetMe’s Terms of Service, the company may “terminate accounts that are inactive for an extended period of time.” Please note that there are no specific time restrictions given, so we aren’t sure whether the account will be deleted after a few months or a few years. 

What happens when you delete a MeetMe account?

Although the Terms of Service isn’t clear, it seems as if deleting an account and removing content that you posted must be done in two separate steps. When you delete an account, that means your email address and password are not active anymore. If you would like the content you posted while a part of MeetMe removed, you’ll need to email support@themeetgroup.com. 

Please note that deactivating an account and asking the content to be removed will not remove the app off of your phone. Conversely, it is worth noting that removing the app off of your phone will not delete the account. 

Steps to Take When End-of-Life Planning

Many think that end-of-life planning consists only of choosing a headstone design and picking the music for your funeral. There are other steps you can take to make your death easier for your bereaved. 

Consider closing little-used accounts or accounts that may hold embarrassing content. If you are facing the end of your life, you may not want your loved ones to know about your dating life. Deleting such accounts (and the content connected to them) may keep your friends and family from learning awkward information about you. 


Sources

  1. “How Do I Delete My Account?” Meet Me. help.meetme.com/portal/en/kb/articles/how-do-i-delete-my-account

Icons sourced from FlatIcon.