As part of your executor duties, you may discover a Nextdoor account that you must delete for your deceased loved one. Managing this task for your loved one may be on a list of other things like canceling bank accounts, transferring rights, and ending monthly or annual memberships. These are just a few things you may need to do when someone dies, and can also prevent further notifications from arriving on the account.
Jump ahead to these sections:
- How to Delete Your Own Nextdoor Account
- How to Cancel a Deceased Loved One’s Nextdoor Account
- Frequently Asked Questions: Deleting a Nextdoor Account
Follow the requested steps and make sure that you verify that your request is accurate and that it goes through. Nextdoor also has FAQs, articles, and support featured on their website for any additional questions you may have.
How to Delete Your Own Nextdoor Account
Nextdoor is a free application that brings neighborhoods together by connecting local business owners, homeowners, public agencies, large brands, and other businesses to each other. They offer a platform to network with others and events as well.
You can read through more information about them by checking out their website. Along with the steps below, you can get some additional assistance by contacting the Nextdoor customer service team. If you’re ready to delete your Nextdoor account, keep reading for the steps below.
Step 1: Head over to their website
You can deactivate your account by going to the Nextdoor website on your browser. Their online site allows users to look through their services, the company purpose, and your account information. Go online to nextdoor.com and sign in to your account.
Step 2: Log in to your Nextdoor account
Once you’ve made it online to their website, log in to your Nextdoor account with your login credentials. You can go to your profile to verify that you’ve logged on properly. You can also check your Nextdoor account details and data.
Step 3: Visit the Nextdoor deactivation page
After you log in to your account, locate the deactivation page and click on it. It will require you to log in to your account first.
Step 4: Optional feedback
You can give feedback if you choose. They’ll provide you with a space to type your thoughts and you can send them in. This can help them with user dissatisfaction and making sure their website is working well for other users.
Step 5: Deactivate your account
Click on “deactivate,” to deactivate your account. Once you click it you’re all done! If you want to delete your account, you must submit a deletion request by contacting their team.
However, with deactivating your account, you have the option to reactivate it if you ever want to use it in the future. However, if you delete your account, it cannot be undone. In addition, you will not be able to access any content that you’ve shared in the past on Nextdoor.
Get weekly reminders to live life fully.
We'll send inspirational quotes directly to your inbox.
You also have the option of contacting their customer service and requesting to have a representative help you manage your account changes. Make sure you provide them with as much information as possible on your request to speed the process along. Their team will help you with your account.
You can learn more about how to cancel your account on the Nextdoor mobile app. You can request to be sent a confirmation email to your email on file once your account is deactivated or deleted.
How to Cancel a Deceased Loved One’s Nextdoor Account
This section should be supportive if a deceased one has a Nextdoor account that you must cancel. Below are listed steps on how to delete your loved one’s account.
Once you delete or deactivate their account, Nextdoor will no longer have it live for others to view. This will halt any Nextdoor charges or alerts from being delivered to your loved one’s account.
Step 1: Follow the previous steps
Just like the steps in the section above, you can go online to view your loved one’s account and see exactly what they have active in real-time. You can see how long they’ve been a member and what details are displayed. You can also find more information about your loved one’s profile by going to the Nextdoor website or submitting a request to their customer service team.
Step 2: Submit a request to Nextdoor support
Using the steps above, you can process this change on your own. However, if you would like additional support to manage the deceased’s account, you can contact the Nextdoor customer service support team. You’ll need to provide your loved one’s details so that, once your request is processed, the customer service representative can assist you.
If you don’t know your loved one’s password, check to see if they had a password manager that kept track of their account details. You can likely find the application on their computer or phone. However, all password managers require a login, so make sure you have that important information handy.
Make sure you have as much of the deceased’s account information as possible. You also might need to provide a death certificate.
Keep in mind that you will need a death certificate for other things, like social security benefits and while dealing with finances. You can read more about getting a death certificate for a loved one to be prepared.
Frequently Asked Questions: Deleting a Nextdoor Account
Lifestyle apps like Nextdoor can help us make necessary connections and relationships in our lives. There are tons of applications like it that serve us in a lot of ways. However, you may be ready to cancel or delete your membership. Keep reading for some frequently asked questions about deleting a Nextdoor account.
Do I have to delete my account or can I momentarily pause it?
You don’t have to delete your account, you can simply deactivate your account. This will hold your profile and information until you decide to cancel or reactivate it.
How much of my loved one’s information is shared?
This depends on what was provided to Nextdoor by your loved one. Usually, users have a profile with basic information that connects them properly around their neighborhood. Most likely, their name, address, and occupation are listed on their profile. This information can be limited to just friends they have or people in the neighborhood only.
Can I reactivate my account?
If you previously had an account with Nextdoor that you deactivated, you can reactivate it at any time. If you delete your Nextdoor account, it can’t be reactivated. You’ll regain access to your account once you reactivate it.
You will need your password to regain access but if you don’t remember it their site will allow you to reset it. You’ll need to confirm the address on your account as well. If you need any help you can contact Nextdoor.
Deleting a Nextdoor Account With Ease
Hopefully, this helps in getting you or your loved one’s Nextdoor account deleted. Once you decide that your account is no longer serving its purpose, managing it quickly can help with keeping finances organized.
- “How To Delete Or Deactivate Your Nextdoor Account”. Help Center, Nextdoor, 2022. Help.nextdoor.com