How to Permanently Delete a TikTok Account: Step-By-Step

Updated

Cake values integrity and transparency. We follow a strict editorial process to provide you with the best content possible. We also may earn commission from purchases made through affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more in our affiliate disclosure.

TikTok is a powerful, engaging platform for sharing, discovering, and creating short videos. What makes TikTok unique is its highly accurate algorithm which learns what users want to see to create a customized “For You” feed. 

Jump ahead to these sections:

However, there might come a time when you need to delete a TikTok account for yourself or someone else. Whether you no longer want your videos public or you’d rather no longer have an account, it’s possible to permanently delete a TikTok account in just a few steps. 

Because deleting an account on any website can be harder than creating one, here is the step-by-step guide to deleting your TikTok account. This is a part of your digital afterlife that shouldn’t be overlooked.

Post-planning tip: If you are the executor for a deceased loved one, handling the details of their unfinished business such as closing active accounts can be overwhelming without a way to organize your process. We have a post-loss checklist that will help you ensure that your loved one's family, estate, and other affairs are taken care of. 

How to Delete Your Own TikTok Account

TikTok makes it easy to find unique content without having to take any action, but there might come a time when you no longer want your account open. Luckily, it’s relatively easy to take these steps yourself. 

1. Use your smartphone

As of right now, there is no way to delete your account from a computer browser. You’ll need to use your smartphone device. Open TikTok on your phone, and make sure you’re logged in. 

2. Navigate to your profile

Next, you need to go to your profile. To do that, click “Me.” This is the person icon at the bottom right corner of your screen. 

Once you’re on your profile, you’ll see your videos, likes, and private videos. If you’d prefer to delete your account vs. make your videos and likes private, click the ellipses (“...”) in the upper right corner of your profile. 

3. Manage your account

Once you’ve clicked on the ellipses, you’ll see your account settings. This is where you can adjust your privacy settings. It’s sometimes easier to adjust your privacy settings rather than deleting your account outright, but this is a personal choice. 

If you’d like to proceed with deleting your account, click “Manage account.” You’ll be presented with account information like your phone number, email, and password. At the bottom of the list, you’ll see a button to “Delete account.” Click this to begin the last instructions. 

4. Verification

Finally, TikTok will request an SMS verification in order to delete your account. This is to protect your privacy and information. Enter the code sent to your mobile phone number, or click “Send Code” to resend the code.

Once you’re complete, click “Continue” to go to the next step. You’ll be asked to confirm your account deletion. That’s all there is to it. 

5. Understand TikTok’s data policy

Though your account is now deleted, it’s still important to understand TikTok’s data policy. According to TikTok’s privacy policy, once you request your account to be deleted with the steps above, your account will be deactivated for 30 days. During this time, you may request your account be returned to its active state. 

After 30 days, your account will be deleted permanently. At this time, any personal data within the in-app messaging will be deleted as well. However, any messages or media of yours sent to other users will not be deleted. 

How to Delete a Deceased Loved One’s TikTok Account

If you’re tasked with deleting a loved one’s TikTok account on their behalf, this can be a bit more tricky. Deleting internet accounts might be a part of your executor duties, so follow these steps below. 

1. Login and follow the steps above

The easiest way to delete a deceased loved one’s TikTok account is if you have access to their information. Because TikTok uses SMS verification, if you have access to their smartphone, you can likely log in and delete their account using all of the steps above. 

Similarly, if their account information was stored in a password manager, you might gain access this way. Being able to log in on your own is the easiest way forward. Otherwise, try the steps below. 

2. Contact TikTok support

If you don’t know your deceased loved one’s username and password, you can try to contact TikTok support. Contacting support and letting them know that you’re acting as the executor of someone’s estate is the first step. 

From there, they might request verification such as the death certificate or court documents. Knowing how to get a death certificate is always useful when closing accounts. However, note that deleting an account this way is time-consuming and often requires court action. Consider one of the alternatives below to simplify this process. 

3. Turn the account to private

The easiest way to protect your loved one’s privacy is to make their account private after death. If you have access to their login, you can do this by going to their profile, clicking the ellipses (“...”), and choosing “Privacy and safety.”

From here, turn on the “Private account” feature. This ensures nobody can search for and find their account, videos, and so on. It also protects their data in case you need to refer back to it in the future. 

If you don’t have access to your loved one’s account, you can also contact TikTok support directly at feedback@tiktok.com. You can request they remove any videos of your choice, especially if they include a deceased loved one. It will be at the representatives’ discretion whether they keep the video up or remove it. 

FAQs: Deleting a TikTok Account

There are a lot of ways to protect your privacy and your loved one’s privacy on TikTok, whether you keep the account active or close it completely. These FAQs help you understand your options.

Can you delete a TikTok account without logging in or a phone number

While it is certainly easiest to close a TikTok account with the account login details, this is not your only option. You can also contact TikTok support using the steps above. While this will be more time-consuming, it might be worth it for peace of mind. 

What happens when you delete a TikTok account?

When you delete your TikTok account, it is hidden for 30 days. During this time, you can contact support and request access to your account. After 30 days, your account is deleted permanently. 

However, it’s important to keep in mind that any messages or media sent to other accounts from your closed account will not be deleted. Pay close attention to your account’s privacy before choosing to delete your account permanently. 

Can you temporarily delete your TikTok account?

You cannot temporarily delete your TikTok account. Though you can reinstate your account within 30 days after choosing to delete it, this is not recommended. 

Instead, consider setting your account to private. This limits your visibility, and it gives you more control over who sees or shares your videos and messages. You can turn this off or on at any time, making it a better temporary solution. 

Managing Your TikTok Account

TikTok is an exciting, shareable social platform. Though it’s gaining in popularity, it’s still confusing how to best manage your account and your loved one’s account. Whether you’re protecting your privacy or performing executor duties, make sure you choose what’s right for your long-term cyber goals. 

Our social accounts might seem insignificant, but these are the ways we’re remembered digitally. What does your digital legacy look like, and how does TikTok fit into your wishes?


Source:
  1. “Legal: Privacy Policy.” TikTok. 20 December 2020. TikTok.com

Icons sourced from FlatIcon.