How to Delete a UPS Account: Step-By-Step

Updated

Throughout a lifetime online, we rotate through many subscriptions, accounts, and memberships. With so many options and obligations, it’s important to keep track of our different accounts so we know when they need to be altered or deleted. A UPS account is one example. Maybe you’re looking to delete one for yourself or a loved one. 

Jump ahead to these sections:

When a loved one passes, often a family member, spouse, or another person close to the deceased must handle final tasks on their behalf. These are called executor duties. If a member of the family, husband, wife, or child isn’t available, someone else must be declared executor. Executors coordinate with the living on behalf of the deceased and handle leftover tasks, such as deleting their accounts. 

If you need to delete a UPS account for yourself or a loved one, you’re in the right place. Deleting you or your loved one’s account, or modifying it, can be done on your own in just a few steps. If you have a monthly or quarterly membership, you’ll need to keep an eye out on billing dates. This will keep you from receiving any further unwanted alerts or communication. Keep reading to learn more about how to delete your UPS account. 

How to Delete Your Own UPS Account

Maybe you’re looking to switch over from UPS to a different mailing company, maybe you’re moving to a different location, or you’re no longer interested in having an account with UPS. Either way, the following steps will show you how to delete your UPS account. You can also discover more help and resources by heading over to the UPS Help Center

UPS, or United Parcel Service, is a multinational supply chain management, receiving, and shipping company. It has been in business since 1907 and is currently one of the world’s largest shipping facilities and a Fortune 500 company.

You can send out and receive packages, trace packages, and more through their services. Many people send letters, receive gifts, and move things across the world through UPS. Keep reading to learn how to delete your UPS account in the following ways. 


Get our free checklist for navigating loss 💙

Enter your email to get your free roadmap for the steps after loss in your inbox. 
Post-loss checklist

Step 1: Head to the UPS website 

You can delete your UPS account by heading over to your online account page, which can be accessed through the UPS website. This website will allow you a variety of options and information. Go to your UPS account page via www.ups.com to begin. 

Step 2: Login to your UPS account

Once you’ve reached the UPS site, use your account password and username to log in to your account. Click on the account username in the top corner on the right of the browser.

Step 3: Go to your UPS account information

After you log into your UPS account, click on your account tab (should say your name). Next, click on the selection that reads “my information”. 

Make sure that you verify your UPS account by entering the correct name and password. 

Step 4: Delete UPS account

Next, go to the right and select the “Delete My Profile” option. Once you do so, a pop-up will appear. Confirm that you are sure about this change by clicking “yes”. 

Step 5: Verify your UPS request to delete

Next, you’ll have to review the cancellation request. You have the option to provide a reason for canceling. Maybe, it’s not satisfying, you’ve moved to a different location, or you have another reason. Companies usually ask so they can improve the customer experience should there be an issue.  

Finally, submit your deletion request and save your changes. You’re now all set with a deleted account. 


Download your free end-of-life plan.

Enter your email below to get your free checklist in your inbox. 

Get other support

An additional way to delete your account is to reach out to the UPS customer service line at 1-800-742-5877 and request to have a representative assist you with your account updates. Once you provide your account details, including the account ID, username, and/or password,  a customer service rep will help you delete your account.

Once your UPS account is deleted, you won’t have to worry about it any longer. You will receive a confirmation email with the change through the email address you subscribed with once your UPS account is deleted. 

How to Cancel a Deceased Loved One’s UPS Account

If you have a recently deceased loved one that has a UPS account that you want to cancel on their behalf, follow the steps below. Once you delete their UPS account, it won’t be accessible on the UPS website. This will discontinue any following charges or communication from being sent to your loved one’s account. 

Step 1: Follow the steps listed above

If you have access to your loved one’s password, you’re in luck. You can follow the same steps listed above to log in and delete your loved one’s UPS account. 

If you’re not so lucky, you might check to see if your deceased loved one used a password manager. If you don’t find one, you’ll have to call UPS customer service. 

Step 2: Call UPS customer service

If you don’t have the deceased’s password, your best bet is to call UPS customer service at 1-800-742-5877. Be prepared with as much information about your loved one’s account as possible, including their full name, email account, and physical address. A customer support representative should be able to direct you in deleting the account. 

You might also need to provide them with your loved one’s death certificate. You'll also need to get a death certificate to handle other tasks on your plate. It may also give you additional warmth and support in a time of healing and moving forward to have a duplicate of your loved one’s death certificate.

Frequently Asked Questions: Delete A UPS Account

There are a lot of available mail courier services and offerings available at this present time. There are a variety of account memberships available to support people when it comes to their shipping and receiving needs. Below are some frequently asked questions regarding deleting a UPS account.

Get weekly reminders to live life fully.

We'll send inspirational quotes directly to your inbox.

Is a cancellation fee charged when I delete my UPS account?

The UPS account is a free service offered through the company, so you won’t be charged for deleting your account.

Will I still be charged if my UPS account is paused?

You cannot pause your account, however, you don’t have to stay active with your account. You don’t need to use it unless you have something to send out, receive, track, etc. 

How soon will my UPS account be deleted?

The change will be processed immediately. UPS will delete your account and remove your information from their site. UPS will still keep track of your transaction information. 

Deleting A UPS Account Indefinitely 

Often we have to manage simple tasks like deleting or altering accounts and account information. With so many different accounts that we manage it’s important to keep in mind different passwords, billing dates, and account details. Using a password manager on your phone or safely in your office can help to keep track of your data. This helps in cases where you or someone else may need a reminder of a password. 

Knowing when to cancel or delete your account can help you to stay on top of payments, communications, and more. Try keeping important dates handy, especially upcoming ones. You can find additional data and intel by checking out the UPS website or calling their customer service line. Make sure to take a peek at their FAQs and listed articles. To learn more about afterlife planning or grief counseling, join Cake today


Source:
  1. “Edit/Delete Users: UPS”. Help Center, United Parcel Service of America, Inc., 2021. ups.com.

Icons sourced from FlatIcon.