They say that once you post something on the internet, it never goes away. But that’s not always true, especially if you’ve wondered how to delete your personal Facebook page and then done so successfully. The same can go for a Facebook business page and the steps involved.
Jump ahead to these sections:
- How to Delete Your Own Facebook Business Page
- How to Delete a Deceased Loved One’s Facebook Business Account Without Admin Access
- Deleting a Facebook Business Page: Frequently Asked Questions
There are a lot of reasons why you might want to delete your Facebook business page. The most obvious one is that you’re closing down your business. However, you may want to shut down your Facebook page even if your business is booming. There are so many social media platforms out there, and you only have a certain number of hours in the day to update them all. You may discover that your attention is more focused on other platforms. But leaving an old Facebook page up that you no longer update can look unprofessional.
Whether you’re closing down your own page or acting on someone else’s behalf, there are certain processes you need to follow. Read on to see how we demystify this process.
How to Delete Your Own Facebook Business Page
There are a few different options when it comes to deleting a Facebook business page. If you aren’t sure if you’re ready to delete it permanently, you can start by unpublishing it. This makes the page private so that only admins are able to see it. However, if you’re ready to take the plunge and delete your Facebook business page forever, here’s how you can do it:
Step 1: Log in to Facebook on your laptop or desktop computer
While there are ways to delete pages on the Facebook mobile app, it’s not incredibly intuitive. The steps here will specifically delineate the most efficient way to delete your Facebook business page from a computer.
Step 2: Navigate to the business page you want to delete
Once you’ve logged into Facebook, look on the left side of the page for different links. One of them will be called “Pages.” Click on that to see a list of all the pages you manage. Find your business page on that list and click on it so that you are on the page.
Step 3: Go into your settings
Once you’re on your business page, scroll down to the bottom left of the page. Then, click on the link that says “Settings.”
Step 4: Delete your page
Once you’ve entered the “Settings” area, you’ll be presented with a list of options. The very last one at the bottom says “Remove Page.” Click on that link, and you’ll see the following message:
“Deleting your Page means that nobody will be able to see or find it. Once you click delete, you'll have 14 days to restore it in case you change your mind. After that, you'll be asked to confirm whether to delete it permanently. If you choose to unpublish instead, only admins will be able to see your Page.”
Below that message, there will be a link that reads “Delete (insert page name here).” When you click on that link, another message will pop up with similar wording to the one before. This one reads:
“If you delete your Page, you will still be able to restore it within 14 days. After that, you will be asked to confirm that you want to permanently delete it. You can also select Unpublish this page below so that only admins can see this page. Are you sure you want to begin the process of deleting this page?”
Below that message, you’ll see a few options listed including “Unpublish This Page,” “Delete Page,” and “Cancel.” Click the button that says “Delete Page” now. You will receive one more pop-up message. That one reads:
“Page entered deletion mode. You can cancel the deletion within 14 days.”
Step 5: Confirm page deletion
There is a 14-day cooling-off period from the time you hit the delete button until the page actually gets deleted. Once that 14-day period has elapsed, Facebook will send you a notification. It will ask you to confirm that you really want to delete your page. Go ahead and confirm that to ensure that your page is permanently deleted.
How to Delete a Deceased Loved One’s Facebook Business Account Without Admin Access
If you’re performing executor duties for someone who has passed away, deleting their Facebook business page may be easier said than done. If the deceased provided you with access to their password manager, you can log in to their account and follow the steps above. If you don’t have admin access, then follow these steps instead:
Step 1: Gather any documentation you may need
In order for Facebook to memorialize or delete an account, they’ll need to see proof of your loved one’s death. The most efficient way to do this is to provide them with a certified copy of the death certificate. You can get that from your local office of vital records. Alternatively, you could submit a letter of testamentary, a copy of the will, or even a published obituary.
Step 2: Determine whether you’re eligible to request a page deletion
Even with proof of a person’s death, Facebook won’t necessarily allow you to make requests about an account. You will need to prove that you’re an immediate family member of the deceased or that you’re the executor of their estate.
Step 3: Contact Facebook
Facebook has a special online form you can use to report that a person has died. Just fill out the requested information and your contact information. A representative will guide you through the process.
Deleting a Facebook Business Page: Frequently Asked Questions
Still have some questions about deleting your Facebook business page? Here are some answers to other frequently asked questions:
Can you delete your Facebook business page on mobile?
You can delete your Facebook business page using the mobile app. Navigate to the Pages section and select the business page you’d like to delete. Once you’re on that page, click the gear icon to get into your Settings section.
Pick the General section at the top. About two-thirds down on that page, you’ll see a section called Remove Page. Click on the “Delete (insert page name)” link and follow the remaining prompts. Again, you will be able to change your mind within the next fourteen days.
How do you unlink your business page from your personal Facebook account?
For many years, all Facebook business pages had to be linked to a personal Facebook account. Recently though, Facebook has rolled out a Facebook Business Manager. This provides you with a centralized location to manage business pages, which also allows you to separate your business and personal accounts.
The Complexities of Cancellation
Facebook is one of the world’s largest businesses, with over 2.7 billion active users. With that big of a user base, it can be difficult to get customer support. That’s especially true when you’re trying to delete an account on behalf of someone who has passed away. Hopefully, the tricks you’ve learned here have made the process a little less opaque.
- “How do I delete my Facebook Page?” Facebook.com, Facebook, 2021, www.facebook.com/help/223786757631885.