How to Delete a Bumble Account Permanently: Step-By-Step

Updated

Are you looking to permanently delete your Bumble account? Or maybe you have recently lost a loved one who has a Bumble account that you need to delete. Although deleting your Bumble account may not be the most challenging task to complete on your list of things to do, it may be beneficial to get it done as quickly as possible to halt the account.

Jump ahead to these sections:

Deleting the account will stop any further alerts from coming to your account and will remove any of your personal information from the Bumble site. The best part is that you can delete your account or your loved one’s Bumble account at any time. 

Bumble is a dating app that’s free to use, however they do offer premium accounts and paid options. They allow you to connect and match with people of interest in your area. You can alter your location and profile information as much as you need to. You or your loved one may have a Bumble account that you’re looking to permanently delete; if so, keep reading to learn how.

How to Delete Your Own Bumble Account

Bumble is a free dating site to meet new friends and potential romantic partners. They help you connect with people in your surrounding area and give you a place to privately chat with them. The Bumble site was made to be as efficient as possible and the company works to supply its users with as many details as possible for safe and effective connections. Once you create an account, they ask that you add photos and a biography about yourself to connect better with other Bumble users.

Users can use Bumble to meet friends, business connections, and lovers. You can make the first move by reaching out to someone, or maybe someone will reach out to you first. They have Bumble Date, Bumble Bizz, and Bumble BFF categories for users. Head to their website to discover more about the app. 

Maybe you’re altering your Bumble account because it’s not as beneficial as it once was or it isn’t compatible with your lifestyle anymore. To learn how to delete your Bumble account, keep reading. You can also find support by contacting customer service for assistance. There are more solutions to frequently asked questions and helpful articles on the Bumble website. 

Check out the following steps to delete your Bumble account.

Step 1: Open the Bumble app 

Your Bumble account can be deleted by first opening the app on your phone or laptop. The Bumble app allows users to delete their profiles whenever they choose. To begin this process, open the app or visit https://bumble.com.

Step 2: Log in to your Bumble account

Once you’ve made it to the Bumble app, make sure that you are logged in to your account. 

Step 3: Navigate the app to settings

After logging into your account, click on the grey silhouette at the bottom left corner. Next, click on the gear/tool icon located in the upper-righthand corner to get to your settings.

Step 4: Delete your Bumble account

Once you get to settings, scroll down to the bottom of your settings list. Next, click the icon to delete the account.

Step 5: Verify your account deletion

The site will ask you to choose your reason for deleting your Bumble profile. Select a reason for deleting your Bumble account. Click on “Delete account” once again. Insert the word “delete” and make sure to use all lowercase letters. Click on “confirm” to delete your profile. 

Make sure to delete your Bumble account

The site also features a disclaimer, much like with other apps, that uninstalling, deleting, or removing the Bumble app from your phone does not delete your Bumble account. You have to follow the above steps to delete your Bumble profile. To make sure that your profile has been deleted, you will be taken back to the Bumble app’s registration page. 

If you try to log back into your old account, the site will automatically create a new Bumble account. Deleting your account also does not cancel any standing subscription. If you signed up for a paid Bumble Boost subscription you will have to take the essential steps to cancel the subscription, that way you will ensure that you are no longer being charged any auto-renewal subscription fees.

Once your account is deleted, you won’t be able to access it any longer. You can sign up for a new profile, however, at any time. 

How to Delete a Deceased Loved One’s Bumble Account

This section should be of much help if your loved one has a Bumble profile that you’re looking to permanently delete. Maybe they created a profile that was of use before, but they’re no longer around to utilize the profile.

Below are the necessary steps to delete your loved one’s Bumble account. Once you delete their account, it will no longer be active under the Bumble app. This will stop any further exchanges with other accounts and remove their profile from the app.

Step 1: Follow the prior steps

If you have your loved one’s password, you’re in luck. Just like the above-listed steps, you can go to the Bumble app to check out your loved one’s account and remove it from existing. You can see when they joined the site and if there are any important alerts or messages to respond to. You can also discover more information about your loved ones’ Bumble profile by going to the app or requesting assistance from their customer service team. 

Step 2: Contact Bumble’s customer service 

By following the above steps you can permanently delete your loved one’s Bumble profile. However, if you would like additional assistance while deleting your loved one’s account, you can reach out to Bumble’s customer service team support online.

You’ll need to provide them with your loved one’s information, like their name and email so that the customer service representative can better assist you. You can also try reaching out to them via Instagram or Facebook for support. 

If you don’t have your loved one’s Bumble password, check to see if they have a password manager located somewhere. Your loved one might have created a password manager in their home office or on their cell phone. You won’t need to provide Bumble with any legal documents, like a death certificate.

However, you may need a legal death certificate for other things on your executor duty to-do list, like filing social security benefits. It’s quick to discover more about getting a death certificate for the deceased or yourself, which is something you might need to do when a loved one passes away

How to Cancel Your Own Premium Bumble Subscription

Maybe you’ve signed up for a premium Bumble subscription on the app. Their premium features can help you connect with people faster for a monthly fee. Users can cancel their premium subscription at any time. You can cancel your subscription in your Apple app store, Google play store, or the Bumble app. Keep reading to learn how to delete it in the actual app.

Step 1: Open the app

Your first step will be to open the Bumble app, make sure that you’re signed in to your account.

Step 2: Navigate to the menu

Once you’re signed in, find the menu icon on the top-left corner of the app and click on it.

Step 3: Manage your subscription

After clicking on the menu icon, click on the Bumble Boost icon located under your profile picture. You’ll see a subscription date, next to it click on “manage your subscription”. 

Step 4: Cancel your Bumble subscription

Once you’ve clicked on the subscription icon, click to “cancel”. Your subscription will now be canceled. 

How to Cancel a Deceased Loved One’s Premium Bumble Subscription

Your loved one may have had a premium Bumble subscription. If so, it’s easy to cancel it on their behalf. Just like above, you have a variety of options on how to cancel their subscription. Keep reading to learn more.

Step 1: Sign in to their account

You’ll need to know their login information. If you don’t, contact customer service for support. Once you log in, make your way to the menu and click on their subscription. 

Step 2: Cancel their Bumble subscription

Once you’ve located the subscription that you want to delete, click “delete subscription”. Then you’re all done!

Permanently Deleting A Bumble Account

Whether you’re deleting a Bumble account for yourself or a deceased loved one, hopefully, this article helps. Managing tasks like this only take a few simple steps. Once you’ve chosen to delete your Bumble account, it can be done on the Bumble app. If the account has a premium subscription, acting as quickly as possible can help prevent any further scheduled charges from being processed.

Another useful tip is discovering all available information from Bumble and their customer service team. Visit all the resources on the Bumble website for more related information.


Sources:
  1. “How do I delete my profile?” Help Center, Bumble, 2021. bumble.com.
  2. “How to Cancel Your Bumble Subscription On Any Device”. Tech, Business Insider Inc., 2021. businessinsider.com.

Icons sourced from FlatIcon.