How to Delete an OfferUp Account: Step-By-Step

Updated

In this day and age, many online marketplaces make it easy to buy and sell goods from the comfort of your home. One of the biggest up-and-coming platforms is OfferUp. This app describes itself as the easiest and most trusted way to buy and sell locally.

With millions of people already using OfferUp to get rid of things they no longer need, you might wonder what happens when you’re ready to delete an OfferUp account. 

Jump ahead to these sections:

There are many reasons you may no longer need your OfferUp account. One of the most common reasons is that you might no longer have anything to buy or sell. While the platform is secure, you might not feel comfortable having your data and transaction history online with OfferUp.

Similarly, you might be acting out executor duties on behalf of a loved one. No matter your reason, it’s a relatively simple process to deactivate your OfferUp account. 

In this guide, we'll shed light on how to delete your OfferUp account, as well as highlight some of the steps in closing a loved one's account. Regardless of your reasons for closing an OfferUp account, it's crucial to be in control of your digital footprint.

Account Deletion vs. Deactivation

First, is it possible to completely delete your OfferUp account? In short, the answer is no. Like other modern websites today, OfferUp only allows current users to deactivate their accounts. So, what exactly is the difference between these terms?

  • Deletion: When your account is deleted, all of your personal information and data are removed from the service. If you wish to create a new account in the future, you’ll need to sign up again. 
  • Deactivation: Conversely, when you deactivate your account, it is made private. While your data is still saved within the platform, your account information no longer appears as searchable. If you wish to activate your account again in the future, you can simply do so without having to sign up again. 

Is it worth deactivating your OfferUp account if you no longer use it? For most, yes. Not only will deactivating your account mean other users can no longer access your seller page, but you’ll also automatically remove any listings that might still be active. If you’ve decided you no longer wish to sell or buy through OfferUp, it’s a good practice to deactivate your account using the guide below. 

How to Delete Your Own OfferUp Account

No matter why you’ve chosen to delete your OfferUp account, it’s a simple process to complete on your own. As long as you have access to your account, you can quickly delete your own OfferUp account using the steps below. 

1. Log into your account

To begin, log into your OfferUp account. If you have multiple accounts through OfferUp, you’ll need to complete these steps individually for each account. If you no longer remember your username or password, you can reset it using two-factor authorization, your email, or your phone number. 

2. Visit the deactivation form

Once you’ve successfully logged into your OfferUp account, visit the deactivation form. On this page, you will submit your request to delete your account. If you wish to use said account again in the future, you can always reactivate your account details. 

On the deactivation form, select a reason for deactivating your account. From there, click confirm to finalize your details. You’ll receive a confirmation saying your account is deactivated. 

3. Check your email

Lastly, follow up by checking your email for confirmation that your account is deactivated. In this email, you'll find what to expect now that your account is closed. It also includes a link for reactivating your account in the future. Remember to remove your OfferUp account from your password manager and to delete the app from your device. 

Keep in mind that although your account is deactivated, your personal information is still stored within the platform. To delete all of your data, contact OfferUp support directly. Any pending payments that you have at the time of deletion will still be completed at your request.

How to Delete a Deceased Loved One’s OfferUp Account

Do you know what to do when someone dies? It’s not always clear what steps come next, but it’s vital to take your loved one’s digital legacy seriously. Deleting accounts they no longer use is a big part of this process, especially if they were a buyer or seller on OfferUp. 

1. Log into their account

The easiest way to deactivate your loved one’s OfferUp account is to log in and complete the steps listed above. If you have access to their phone, email, or OfferUp app, it will be possible to access their account in just a few clicks. 

Alternatively, you can reset their password if you have access to their inbox or other devices. They might have also listed their username and password in their documents. If you don’t have access to their OfferUp account, you’ll have to continue to the steps below.  

2. Contact OfferUp support

Unless you have direct access to the account, you’ll need the OfferUp support team to deactivate the account for you. This is as simple as contacting the support team directly, explaining that you’re closing the account of someone deceased, and sharing any necessary documentation. In some cases, you might need to know how to get a death certificate.  

3. Take down any listings

If your loved one had any active listings as a seller, make sure these are made private. Again, you can do this by contacting support. It’s also a good idea to check if they have any pending transactions before you make the account private. 

Frequently Asked Questions: Deleting an OfferUp Account

Deleting accounts can sometimes be confusing, especially if you’re unfamiliar with legal terminology and how companies handle online data. These frequently asked questions about deleting an OfferUp account help shine a light on the process. 

Can you permanently delete an OfferUP account?

In short, you can’t permanently delete an OfferUp account without contacting support directly. However, you can deactivate your account, which means your seller profile is no longer visible to the public. If you choose to deactivate your account, keep in mind that you will no longer be able to buy or sell on the platform.

How do you delete an OfferUp account on a phone?

You can’t deactivate an OfferUp account on your phone app. This is something you need to do through a web browser, whether on your device’s internet search tool or a computer. However, you can remove listings and complete transactions through the OfferUp phone app.

What happens when you delete an OfferUp account?

When you delete an OfferUp account, your information is no longer visible on the public platform. This means your seller details, past transactions, and more are hidden and don’t appear in the search. You can still reactivate your account in the future by logging in with the same details. 

How can you reactivate your account?

One perk of using OfferUp is that you can reactivate your account at any time. If you decide to continue buying or selling in the future, reactivating your existing account is as simple as signing into the platform. However, if you deactivated your account before 2017, you will need to contact support directly to have your account reactivated. 

Say Goodbye to OfferUp

Ultimately, there might come a time when you no longer need a buying and selling app. Whether you’re moving, downsizing, or reselling collectibles, OfferUp is a powerful way to connect with others in your area. However, it’s also possible that you might need to deactivate your OfferUp account. When that time comes, follow the steps above. 

OfferUp is far from the only seller app online. You might also be interested in how to delete a Facebook account or how to delete your eBay account. Staying on top of your personal information and data is the best way to protect yourself and your loved ones.  

Icons sourced from FlatIcon.