How to Delete a StockX Account: Step-By-Step

Updated

In today’s world, it’s more popular than ever to buy and sell things online. As one of the leading online marketplaces, StockX empowers users to bid and buy in real-time, naming their own price for high-ticket designer items. Similarly, users can earn money selling items on StockX. However, there might come a time when you’re ready to delete your StockX account. 

Jump ahead to these sections:

Unlike other online selling marketplaces, StockX builds authenticity into every step. Every item bought or sold must be brand new or never worn. Additionally, their global team of expert authenticators verifies all products to make sure they're up to their standards. This gives buyers peace of mind knowing they’re paying for the real deal. 

That being said, if you’re no longer using your StockX account, it’s a good idea to delete it. This account contains a lot of sensitive information like your transaction history, payment details, and personal information. Whether you’re deleting your own account or a loved one’s account as part of your executor duties, here’s how to get started. 

How to Delete Your Own StockX Account

If you want to delete your own StockX account, it’s a relatively straightforward process. As long as you have your account information, you can continue with the simple steps below. However, before you delete your account, make sure you’ve finished any incomplete transactions to ensure there are no interruptions to your orders or sales. 

1. Decide how you’d like to delete your account

StockX believes users should be in full control of their personal details. This is good news, and it means you have a lot of options when it comes to removing your personal information. There are two different options to support account changes:

  • Delete: First, you can delete your account outright. This is when you request all of your information, profile, and details to be removed fully from the website. 
  • Billing information: If you’re just looking to protect your payment information, you can request the support team to only delete your billing information. This removes your billing and shipping information, along with any existing credit cards you have on file. 

It’s important to note that StockX must keep some user information archived for legal and tax purposes. They are fully GDPR and privacy law compliant, and they are willing to work with you to make sure you feel comfortable with your account details. If you’ve decided to delete your account for good, continue with the steps below. 

2. Visit the Trust Center

At the StockX Trust Center, you have access to information about your privacy and online security. Since this is an online marketplace, there are a lot of personal details you might be worried about. This is an important part of managing your digital identity. 

Through the Trust Center, you can submit a request to remove your account or delete your billing information. Once you’re on the Trust Center homepage, select Submit Request to proceed. 

3. Confirm your request

Next, you’ll be taken to the Trust Center request page. You’ll see the different types of requests you can make. In this case, you can request account deletion. All of your personal data will be deleted, and this is an irreversible process. 

You cannot access these details once you’ve submitted your request. To continue, select that you’re submitting this request for yourself. Next, click Delete as your request type. 

4. Complete the Subject Rights Request

Once you’re on the Subject Rights Request form, enter all of the required information. You need to know the email associated with your account, your first name, last name, StockX username, and residency status (CA or EU resident). Finally, complete the captcha to confirm you’re not a bot. When you’ve checked all of your details are correct, click submit. 

5. Receive your confirmation

Lastly, you should receive a confirmation of your submission to delete your StockX account via email. Keep all of these confirmations for your records. Once deleted, you’ll no longer have access to your account. At this time, delete the account from your password manager and uninstall the app.

How to Delete a Deceased Loved One’s StockX Account

If you’re wondering what to do when someone dies, you might need to delete their unused accounts. These digital profiles can compromise your loved one’s identity and security. By being proactive about deleting them, you keep their information safe. 

1. Compile key account information

To begin, you’ll need key information about your loved one’s StockX account. You can likely access most of this by viewing their buyer or seller profile. You’ll need their email, username, first name, and last name. 

Alternatively, you can find details about their account through the app on their device or their email inbox. The more information you have, the easier it will be to delete their account. 

2. Log in using the steps above

If you have access to your loved one’s username and password, the easiest way to close the account is to use the steps above. If you’re acting on your loved one’s behalf as their executor or next-of-kin, complete the request to delete their account form as though it’s your own. 

If you don’t have access to their account information, you’ll need to contact support directly using the steps below. Luckily, StockX takes this process seriously. 

3. Contact support

If all else fails, contact support. StockX makes it easy to call, email, or text support for help. In your message, let them know that you’re hoping to close a loved one’s account after their death. You might need to show additional documentation, like a death certificate or ID. Learn how to get a death certificate to make sure you’re ready for anything. 

While they might not be able to completely delete this StockX account, you can certainly get their payment information deleted. This is typically the riskiest data, so this might be all you need to do to feel peace of mind. 

Frequently Asked Questions: Deleting a StockX Account

It’s normal to have questions about deleting a StockX account, especially if this is your first time navigating privacy rules. The answers below make things more clear so you know what to expect. 

How do you delete a payment method on your StockX account?

StockX has a simple process for deleting any payment methods. You can always delete all billing details, securing your data online. To do so, contact support via chat. In the section for typing your question, type “delete billing.” 

From there, a team member will confirm that you wish to delete your billing information for good. If you wish to add a payment method at a later date, you’ll have to start over. 

How do you delete a StockX account on the app?

You delete a StockX app the same way whether you’re using the app or a computer. You’ll need to access the Trust Center on your mobile device or computer. The only way to delete your account is through this form. 

Can you delete a StockX account without a password?

You actually don’t need a StockX password to delete your account. Through the Trust Center form, you need to provide other key information like your email, account username, and legal name. From there, your account request details are sent to the email address associated with your account.

Close Your StockX Account for Good

While StockX makes it easy to buy and sell luxury goods and premium merchandise online, you might not need your account to stay active forever. Deleting key accounts is an important way to protect your privacy online. Whether you’re no longer selling or buying online or you’re managing a loved one’s account, follow these steps above. 

You always deserve to be in control of your privacy and data. Make sure you’re regularly checking your accounts to make sure your information isn’t lurking unprotected in cyberspace. 

Icons sourced from FlatIcon.