4 Steps to Permanently Delete a Tinder Account

Updated

Cake values integrity and transparency. We follow a strict editorial process to provide you with the best content possible. We also may earn commission from purchases made through affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more in our affiliate disclosure.

From casual flings to wedding rings, Tinder has been responsible for helping people get together since 2012. The simple interface makes a game out of finding someone to talk to or date. It lets you quickly evaluate a profile and swipe left or right to match or not match with them. When you both swipe right, you match!

Jump ahead to these sections:

While the thrill of matching has certainly captured the hearts of many, you might be ready to turn off Tinder long-term. If that is the case, we have the information you need to quickly and easily delete your account. If you're closing accounts for a deceased loved one, you can also reach out to Tinder to get an inactive account deactivated to preserve their digital legacy.

Your pursuit of getting this situation resolved can be part of the closure process after losing a loved one in this digital age.

How to Permanently Delete Your Tinder Account

Many people who aren’t sure about permanent deletion begin with turning off Discovery. This is the feature that shows your profile to other Tinder users, and turning it off means that only people you’ve already “liked” will be able to like you back and message you. If overall, this is not enough to cut down on your Tinder usage, you can take the following easy steps to close your Tinder account.

Log in to Tinder

You’ll need to have the Tinder app open and, if it has been long enough for you to log out automatically, you’ll have to log back in.

Tap “Profile” and then “Settings”

On your home page, you should see a profile button to click on. From that menu, select “Settings” to open up the options.

You won’t immediately see the result you need on most phone screens, so scroll down.

Tap “Delete Your Account”

You’ll eventually see “Delete Your Account” as an option on the Settings menu. Deletion is permanent, so it will ask you to confirm this is your goal.

Once you confirm this fact, your account, including all past matches, messages, and information, will be deleted. Recovering your account is not possible, so be sure you're ready to lose those contacts before getting off the app.

Finish out by uninstalling the application

The last step to both free your mind and free your phone from Tinder is to select the application and uninstall it from your phone.

If you do this on its own, you are not deleting your account, just removing the application, so do this last if you really want to leave Tinder forever.

ยป MORE: How do you host a virtual or hybrid funeral? Start here

 

How to Permanently Delete a Tinder Account for Someone Who Has Died

If you happen to know the username and password of a friend or family member who died, you can delete their Tinder account from the same profile settings we mentioned above. As part of a post-loss checklist, deleting a Tinder account protects their identity and their personal details. This is an act of compassion and kindness, so proceed carefully. 

If not, you’ll want to get in touch with Tinder support to have the profile taken down and the account deleted.

Contact Tinder support

Go to Tinder's main support page. None of the options perfectly explain the facts of deleting a loved one's account after death.

Click through options until you find one that offers you the chance to submit a ticket. This is where you can offer information about your loved one’s passing and your request to delete the profile.

Await further instructions

Tinder has a small customer support team that handles the large volume of people with profiles, so it might take some time for them to respond. If they do, they may request further information or they may just inform you that the account has been deactivated.

One thing to keep in mind is that Tinder prefers to delete inactive users after a few months anyway. It makes their app worse if people are consistently “swiping right” on people who are never going to respond. So, even if you don’t hear back from Tinder, there’s a good chance they will deactivate your loved one’s account fairly promptly anyway.

FAQs: Tinder Account Deletion

What else might you want to know about deleting Tinder? We’ve come up with a few questions you might have about deleting your profile. 

What happens if you delete your Tinder account?

If you delete your Tinder account, all matches and messages won’t be available to you and will be deleted. You can come back with the same Facebook account or a phone number in the future, but for now, you won’t appear to others on the app.

When you come back, none of your old matches will remain, and you won't be able to find your old messages.

Do you still show up on Tinder if you delete the app?

If you just delete the application from your phone, the app doesn’t know that you’re gone since your profile is still active.

You’ll still show up on Tinder for others to consider unless you delete your account or you turn off “Discovery,” which makes you unavailable. Turning Discovery back on will make your profile show up again.

How do you delete messages on Tinder?

You can’t delete individual messages. Tinder lets you end an entire conversation by going to that person’s profile, clicking the menu, and clicking “Unmatch.” Then neither you nor they will have access to those messages anymore.

Swiping Left on Your Tinder Account

Whether you’re in a great new relationship or realizing that you like meeting people a different way, plenty of people end their season with Tinder. Deleting the app, like deleting other aspects of your online presence, can be a relief and a simplification of life. You become free to use the time you spent swiping doing other things.

If you’ve realized that decluttering your digital life is an aspiration for you, a great password manager may be a good place to start. Cake offers great options and a variety of other end-of-life planning tools for getting your affairs in order, even for the far-off future. You’ll be glad to have the peace of mind and security for your online accounts.


Sources

  1. “What is Discovery?” Tinder Help. Tinder. help.tinder.com/hc/en-us/articles/115003340963-What-is-Discovery-
  2. “Can I delete a message?” Tinder Help. Tinder. help.tinder.com/hc/en-us/articles/115003373963-Can-I-delete-a-message-
  3. “Deleting Your Tinder Account.” Tinder Help. Tinder. help.tinder.com/hc/en-us/articles/115003358846-Deleting-your-Tinder-account

Icons sourced from FlatIcon.