Zoom has exploded in popularity as a convenient method for video conferencing, talking with friends and loved ones, and connecting across the miles for business meetings, birthdays, and everything in between.
Jump ahead to these sections:
- How to Delete Your Own Free Zoom Account
- How to Cancel Your Own Paid Zoom Plan
- How to Delete a Deceased Loved One’s Zoom Account
- How to Cancel Your a Deceased Loved One’s Paid Zoom Plan
However, the time might come when you decide you no longer need a Zoom account. After all, there is still Facebook video chat, WhatsApp, Facetime, and numerous other competing video chat platforms. If you’re ready to move on from Zoom or you need to close your loved one’s account, read on for all you need to know.
How to Delete Your Own Free Zoom Account
Deleting your own Zoom account is straightforward. Follow these steps and you’ll be done in no time.
Step 1: Sign in to the web portal
To delete the account on your own, you’ll have to be signed in. This requires you to have the email associated with your account and the password you set up. If you don’t have your password, then you can reset your password during the login process. If it’s the email address you’re missing, you won’t have many other options since without it you can’t sign in.
Make sure you’re signing in to the actual web portal for this operation. You can’t complete the following steps on the computer extension or app.
Step 2: Access “Account Management” from the Navigation menu
Hover over the navigation menu and click on the “Account Management” option. From here, click on your account profile.
Step 3: Choose “Terminate Account”
Your account profile page contains information related to your Zoom account, such as whether you have a free or paid version, the account number, and the max number of people that can join a Zoom call with you.
You’ll also find the option to terminate your account on this page. If you’re ready to delete your account, click this button.
Step 4: Confirm termination
A pop-up screen will appear asking whether you want to terminate your account. Click “yes” to confirm.
Once you confirm, you’ll be automatically redirected to the Zoom homepage, and a small green box will appear at the top of the page that says, “Terminate your account success.”
How to Cancel Your Own Paid Zoom Plan
Before you can delete your account, you have to cancel your paid subscription. After that, deleting your account is just as simple as canceling a free account.
Step 1: Determine what type of subscription you have
Depending on the subscription type, your paid subscription will end differently.
If you signed up through a direct sales quote, you can cancel, but your subscription ends at the end of the subscription term indicated on your sales quote.
If you signed up for a paid plan on your own, you can cancel your subscription and termination will occur immediately. You may also be eligible for a refund for the remaining time. This will show up during the cancelation process.
Step 2: Sign in to the web portal
In order to cancel your subscription, you must be signed in on the web portal. You can’t do this from the desktop extension or app.
Step 3: Navigate to Billing from Account Management
Once you’re logged in, click on “Account Management.” From here, select the “Billing” category.
Step 4: Locate plan for cancelation
Once you’re looking at the billing page, select the “Current Plans” tab. Once clicked, you’ll see all the subscriptions you have set up. If you only see one subscription listed, you only have one active subscription to choose from.
Step 5: Cancel subscription
To the right of the plan name and status, you’ll see an option to “Cancel Subscription.” Click this to proceed.
Step 6: Confirm cancelation
Once you click “Cancel Subscription,” a pop-up box will appear asking you to confirm your request. In this pop-up box, you will see:
- How much time remains on your account
- A warning as to the last date you’ll have to use your Zoom account
- The remaining time you’ll have to download recorded Zoom meetings
Click the “Cancel Subscription” button one final time to confirm your request.
Step 7: Submit optional feedback
A final pop-up box will appear asking for feedback. If you want, you can select the reason you’re canceling your subscription. If you don’t want to complete this step, simply click, “No Thanks.”
Step 8: Request refund and download cloud content
Unless you’re canceling your plan the day before you’ll be charged, you’ll probably have several days to take care of business, such as downloading cloud content. Once your subscription is canceled and you no longer have access to it, your cloud content becomes inaccessible, as well.
Download all recorded content on the cloud to your device or upload it to a secondary cloud storage system you utilize.
Request a refund if your account shows that you’re allowed a refund.
Step 9: Proceed with account deletion
If you want to delete your account, you can do so once your subscription has been canceled. Follow the steps outlined in the section above to delete your account.
How to Delete a Deceased Loved One’s Zoom Account
Closing a deceased loved one’s Zoom account is relatively simple, as long as you have several pieces of information to provide Zoom support.
Step 1: Gather info
When you’re ready to delete a deceased loved one’s Zoom account, you’ll need to contact Zoom support. Before you can do that, however, you’ll need to gather information that Zoom support requires in order to close accounts. This includes:
- A copy of your loved one’s death certificate
- Their Zoom account number
- The email address associated with their Zoom account
- Invoice number for a bill
- The last 4 digits for the credit card on file with the account
These three pieces of information are critical. The death certificate helps Zoom support confirm the account owner’s death and the account number and email address help them locate the correct account.
Getting a death certificate is easy, and there are two places you can ask for one. One option is to request multiple copies from your funeral director since they’ll already be providing you with one. Second, you can obtain copies from the Vital Records Office in the state where your loved one’s death is recorded.
If you’re unsure of their account number, check their email for correspondence from Zoom or look in their password manager. Email inboxes and password managers are two places where information needed for carrying out executor duties can often be found.
Step 2: Contact Zoom support
The department you want to contact to close your loved one’s account is the billing department. They can be reached at email@example.com.
In your initial email, explain that you need to close your deceased loved one’s account. Provide as much information as you obtained and list it in the email. Attach a copy of their death certificate, as well.
Step 3: Provide supplementary documents or confirm deletion
Zoom support will return your email and will either request further documentation or confirm your request for deletion. If they require other materials, send those in another email. If the account has been deleted, keep the email for your records.
How to Cancel Your a Deceased Loved One’s Paid Zoom Plan
Canceling your deceased loved one’s paid Zoom plan is as simple as deleting their account. Follow these steps.
Step 1: Gather documents
As with deleting their account, you’ll need to provide Zoom support with several pieces of documentation including:
- Death certificate
- Zoom account number
- Last 4 digits of the credit card on file
- Billing address on file
- Email address on file
This information will help Zoom support locate your loved one’s subscription and issue the cancelation.
Step 2: Contact Zoom support
Send an email to Zoom support at firstname.lastname@example.org and request the cancelation of your loved one’s Zoom subscription. Include the information you gathered in your request, including an attached copy of your loved one’s death certificate.
Note: If you wish to delete your loved one’s account in addition to canceling their subscription, you can request account deletion at the same time.
Step 3: Confirm cancelation
Zoom support will write back and confirm the cancelation of your loved one’s account. Keep this email for your records.
Tidy Up Unused Accounts
Closing unused accounts is a beneficial way to keep your information from being accessible to random hacker attacks on major companies like Zoom. Canceling subscriptions will ensure that your finances and your loved one’s estate won’t be billed for something that’s not getting used. While you may not need to take care of tasks like these immediately when someone dies, it’s always a good thing to eventually cross off your to-do list.